SECESSION VILLA it’s a gorgeous restaurant and accommodation object established in 2008, situated in the very heart of Bydgoszcz city close to entertainment and cultural life.
It’s exceptional location close to the nature in a quiet and picturesque Casmir the Great’s park leaves unforgettable impression with every stay here. Richly furnished interiors in secession style create incredibly intimate climate.
Nearby the hotel there are the biggest attractions in Bydgoszcz such as Ignacio Paderewski’s Philharmonic Hall, Opera Nova, shopping centers Drukarnia and Focus Park Gallery Mall.
The unique location close to the nature in the quiet and picturesque Casimir the Great park makes the stay unforgettable. Richly decorated in Art Nouveau style interiors create amazing intimate atmosphere. Nearby there are the biggest attractions in Bydgoszcz such as Ignacy Jan Paderewski Pomeranian Philharmonic Hall, Opera Nova also Bydgoskie Centrum Finansowe and Focus Park shopping centers.
Casimir the Great park is a remnant of a much larger park of the Order of Poor Clare Sisters from the first half of the seventeenth century. The Sisters arrived in Bydgoszcz in 1615 and after the construction of the monastery they started to create the garden. At that time the garden was much bigger and went as far as today’s 3 Maja Street. It’s area was about 3.5 hectares. In the garden there was a pond, fruit trees, ornamental plants and vegetable section.
After the cassation of the Order of Poor Clare Sisters by the Prussian authorities in 1835 the garden was changed in to the Regency Park (Ger. Regierungs Garten) belonging to the Regency Office and closed for the public. Its area was 3 hectares. In 1861 two swans were purchased for the park and carps for two ponds.
In the years 1900-1901 the park was rebuilt reducing its area to 2.4 hectares. The work was led by garden technician Paul Meyerkamp. After completion of the work on October 1st of 1901 the park became the property of the municipal board and as a city park (Ger. Stadt Park) was made available to the public.
On July 23rd of 1904 in the fountain near the Square of Freedom the monument “Deluge” by the Berlin sculptor Professor Ferdinand Lepcke was installed. An impressive sculpture of great artistic and physiognomic value was perfectly corresponding with the surrounding tree coverage.
In 1938 the park had 69 species of trees and shrubs originating from the seventeenth and eighteenth century and many planted at a later time. The largest were oaks with trunk size of 390 and 400 centimeters and 50 giant mountain elms.
Among other species there were: elm, elm vulgaris, holm oak, pyramidal oak, Ailanthus altissima, common horse chestnut, small chestnut, sugar maple, maple, birch, Siberian acacia, Karag Podolska, purple haze, Diervilla low, purple beech kneels, Canadian hydrangea grandiflora, Kerria japonica, magnolia, western sycamore, shrubby peony, white locust, locust, American snowberry, broad-leaved lime, linden, yew, shrubby yew, dwarf pine, black pine, Caucasian Pterocarya, Taxodium, London plane, pterokania, Scots elm and other trees and shrubs.
During the German occupation, mainly in 1944, a lot of trees were cut and used for building defensive bunkers. Part of trees were destroyed during the war – mostly by artillery. In January of 1943 the Nazis dismantled the monument of “The Deluge” allocating 8870 kilograms of bronze for war purposes. To date, there is only the pool and ankle mosaic. The mosaic was covered with concrete in the 50s of twentieth century . On the other hand the fountain was ornamented with stone sculptures of fish designed by Joseph Makowski.
In 1946, on the occasion of the 600th anniversary of the incorporation of the town of Bydgoszcz in the park and in the three schools located at Konarskiego Street the Pomeranian Exhibition of Industry, Crafts and Trade was held. The exhibition which took place between July 14th and September 15th of 1946 attracted 1085 exhibitors. During the first three weeks it was visited by 120 thousand people.
In the 90s of the twentieth century and after the year of 2000 the park was restored and in 2008 the Association for Reconstruction of Bydgoszcz Fountain “Deluge” began the work of restoration of the monument at the former place.